Chilton and Brown Claim Butch Shay Memorial Victories at Richmond Raceway


Richmond, KY(July 16, 2016) Richmond Raceway presented the 2nd Annual Butch Shay Memorial on Saturday evening and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, KY would claim the $2,100 payday for the Sonic Late Models and Blake Brown of Corbin, KY would claim the $2,100 payday for the Phantom Racing Gear Modifieds.  Other feature winners for the evening would include Eddie Stewart of Manchester, KY in AR Bodies KDRA Super Stocks, Jeremie Bretz of Maysville, KY in Pro-Tow Towing Stock Four Cylinders, and Josh Dickerson of Richmond, KY in Warlock Race Cars Mini-Cup/Cyclones.

Derek Fisher would take the at the start of the 30 lap Sonic Late Model 2nd Annual Butch Shay Memorial main event and would be in control of the action until a lap 14 caution would close the field together.  By this point, sixth place starting Michael Chilton had made his way to the second position and Fisher and Chilton would battle for the race lead until Chilton would roll past Fisher exiting turn four on lap 21 and take the top spot.  One final late-race caution would tighten the field one final time, but Chilton would see the checkered flag first in the Central Painting/Superior Drywall/Chilton’s Lawn and Maintenance/Parkview Home Center/Dial Painting/Dyer’s Top Rods sponsored #97 Rocket Chassis powered by a Bullock Race Engine.  Tommy Bailey would would past Fisher on the final circuit to claim second position, with Todd Coffman nipping Fisher at the stripe for third, while 11th place starting Jason Barrett completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be 13th starting James Williamson, Johnny Wheeler, Jerry Rutherford, Jake Henry, and Chris Ruble.  Seventeen entries would see Wheeler at top qualifier at 15.864 seconds, while heat wins fell to Fisher and Bailey.  Chilton’s victory guarantees him a starting spot in the 29th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial at the track on August 20.

Blake Brown would take the lead at the start of the 30 lap Phantom Racing Gear Modified 2nd Annual Butch Shay Memorial and survive a rash of cautions to score the biggest win of the 17-year old, second-generation driver’s young career and his fourth win of the season at Richmond Raceway in the Robbie Brown owned Tammy Brown Photography/Bill’s Bath and Lighting/Team Lawyer Muscles/State Farm Insurance/Basement Boutiques sponsored #99 Lightning Chassis, Vic Hill Race Engines powered mount.  Victor Lee would finish second, while eighth place starting Joey Kramer would complete the podium positions with a third place effort.  Keith Smith and Russ Gabbert would be the remainder of the top five.  Completing the top ten were Cameron Marlar, 13th starting Jimmy Robinson, Dennis Roberson (after pitting for a flat tire), Delane Browning, and Zach Powers.  Twenty-two entries would see Brown also be the top qualifier at 16.975 seconds and win a heat, while the other pair of heat race wins went to Keith Smith and Cody Smith.

Eddie Stewart would take the lead at the start of the 15 lap AR Bodies KDRA Super Stock feature event and would never would the race lead in driving to the win aboard his We Go the Dog sponsored #119 machine.  Robby Perkins would finish in second position, while Jeremie Bretz, Troy Clark, and Logan Preston completed the top five.  Rounding out the top ten finishers were Faron Robinson, Allen Hackworth, Jr., Jeremy Howard, Trae Soper, and Travis Preston.  Seventeen entries would see Stewart be the top qualifier at 17.435 seconds and win a heat, while Perkins claimed the other heat win.

The Pro-Tow Towing Stock Four Cylinder 12 lap main event would see Jeremie Bretz take command in the early going and survive a late race caution to score his second win in the division for the season in the seat of the Mark Swartz owned Swartz Enterprises sponsored #007 Ford Mustang mount.  Division points Sean Jones would take runner-up honors, while Shane Irvin would capture the third position.  Eric Reynolds and Dylan Stevens (who recoverd from an opening lap spin) would complete the top five.  Sixth through tenth place finishers were Brandon Creech, Dave McCarty, Charles Burton, Ashley Logan, and Jamison Gipson.  Twenty-one entries would see Bretz also be top qualifier at 19.185 seconds and win a heat, with Jones capturing the other heat victory. 

Josh Dickerson and Dylan Rutherford would trade the lead on three occasions over the course of the 10 lap Warlock Race Cars Mini-Cup/Cyclone, with Dickerson holding off the charges of Rutherford at the end of the event to claim the victory in his Dickerson Remodeling/C&C Graphics sponsored #17D MMI Chassis entry.  Rutherford would settle for second, with Scott Crusenberry, Bobby Williams, and Dalton Brown completing the running order.  Five entries would see Rutherford as top qualifier at 20.836 seconds and also win the heat race event.

SUMMARY-Richmond Raceway-Richmond, KY-July 23, 2016

Sonic Late Models (17 entries)
Top Qualifier-Johnny Wheeler 15.864
1st Heat- Derek Fisher, Johnny Wheeler, Steven Eversole, Todd Coffman, Jerry Rutherford, Jason Barrett, James Williamson, Ernie Cordier 2nd Heat- Tommy Bailey, Justin Rattliff, Michael Chilton, Jake Henry, Doug Smith, Chris Ruble, Jeff Neubert, Daniel Shelton, Danny Barrett 2nd Annual Butch Shay Memorial- Michael Chilton, Tommy Bailey, Todd Coffman, Derek Fisher, Jason Barrett, James Williamson, Johnny Wheeler, Jerry Rutherford, Jake Henry, Chris Ruble, Jeff Neubert, Ernie Cordier, Danny Barrett, Justin Rattliff, Daniel Shelton, Steven Eversole, Doug Smith

Phantom Racing Gear Modifieds (22 entries) Top Qualifier- Blake Brown 16.975 1st Heat- Blake Brown, Cameron Marlar, Jimmy Crabtree, Russ Gabbert, Jimmy Robinson, Al Kiernan, Tommy Turner, Ian Sexton 2nd Heat- Keith Smith, Victor Lee, Joey Kramer, Jimmy Lennex, Jr., Scott Lemaster, Jared Reams, Brandon Flannery 3rd Heat- Cody Smith, David Adams, Dennis Roberson, Delane Browning, Zach Powers, Keith Denny, Clay Reece 2nd Annual Butch Shay Memorial- Blake Brown, Victor Lee, Joey Kramer, Keith Smith, Russ Gabbert, Cameron Marlar, Jimmy Robinson, Dennis Roberson, Delane Browning, Zach Powers, Jimmy Lennex, Jr., Jared Reams, Jimmy Crabtree, Cody Smith, David Adams, Scott Lemaster, Tommy Turner,  Al Kiernan, Brandon Flannery, Clay Reece, Keith Denny, Ian Sexton

AR Bodies KDRA Super Stocks (17 entries) Top Qualifier- Eddie Stewart 17.435 1st Heat- Eddie Stewart, Jeremie Bretz, Brandon Hutchinson, Faron Robinson, Travis Preston, John Hall, Anthony Wiseman, Trae Soper, Jerry Brandenburg 2nd Heat- Robby Perkins, Troy Clark, Bartley Grant, Allen Hackworth, Jr., Logan Preston, Jeremy Howard, Jimmy Bailey, Darrell Cain
Feature- Eddie Stewart, Robby Perkins, Jeremie Bretz, Troy Clark, Logan Preston, Faron Robinson, Allen Hackworth, Jr., Jeremy Howard, Trae Soper, Travis Preston, Anthony Wiseman, Jimmy Bailey, Jerry Brandenburg, John Hall, Bartley Grant, Darrell Cain, Brandon Hutchinson

Pro-Tow Towing Stock Four Cylinders (21 entries) Top Qualifier- Jeremie Bretz 19.185 1st Heat- Jeremie Bretz, Dave McCarty, Shane Irvin, Charles Burton, Brandon Creech, Tyler Patterson, Ashley Logan, Jamison Gipson, Raymond Fuson, Robert Minton, Dave Grickson 2nd Heat- Sean Jones, Tyler Hayes, Eric Reynolds, Dylan Stevens, Eric Masters, Justin Masters, Keith Gipson, Jordan Tipton, Jeff Chumley, Clint Cox
Feature- Jeremie Bretz, Sean Jones, Shane Irvin, Eric Reynolds, Dylan Stevens, Brandon Creech, Dave McCarty, Charles Burton, Ashley Logan, Jamison Gipson, Tyler Hayes, Robert Minton, Raymond Fuson, Eric Masters, Clint Cox, Tyler Patterson, Keith Gipson, Justin Master, Jordan Tipton (DNS- Jeff Chumley, Dave Grickson

Warlock Race Cars Mini-Cup/Cyclones (5 entries) Top Qualifier- Dylan Rutherford 20.836
Heat- Dylan Rutherford, Josh Dickerson, Scott Crusenberry, Bobby Williams, Dalton Brown
Feature- Josh Dickerson, Dylan Rutherford, Scott Crusenberry, Bobby Williams, Dalton Brown