Justin Rattliff Claims Colonel Classic Victory at Richmond Raceway


Richmond, KY(September 5, 2015) The Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Collins Signs would bring the Revelution Race Cars Iron Man Speedweek presented by Arizona Sport Shirts to Richmond Raceway on Saturday evening for the Colonel Classic and Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, KY would score the victory and $3,000 payday.  The Iron Man Modifieds presented by American Racer South would see Jeff Watson of Campbellsville, KY go to victory lane and earn $1,000.  Other feature event winners included Jeremie Bretz of Maysville, KY in KDRA Super Stocks, Dave McCarty of Owingsville, KY in Four Cylinders, and Josh Dickerson of Richmond, KY in Warlock Race Cars Mini-Cup/Cyclones.

The start of the 30 lap Colonel Classic for Super Late Models would see a major pile-up in turn three and four, resulting in a red flag and blocked up race track.  Action would finally get underway and Justin Rattliff would take the race lead, with Michael Chilton, Victor Lee, Tommy Bailey, and Derek Fisher giving chase.  Rattliff would build a comfortable lead, only to see a spin by Donnie Sullivan on lap 7 draw the caution flag.   The restart would see Rattliff and Chilton continue first and second, while Fisher would work past Bailey for the fourth position as Rattliff would again put some distance on the rest of the field and would start working slower traffic on lap 12.  Chilton would close in a bit, but Rattliff would work traffic masterfully, while Lee, Fisher, and Bailey would battle in heavy traffic with 20 laps complete.  Disaster would almost strike Rattliff with 28 laps scored when Rod Carter, Jr. would spin in front of the leader and Rattliff would spin to avoid the wreck.  By series rules, Rattliff would go back on the point and he would survive  the two lap dash to the finish to claim the win in the James Rattliff owned MGL Auto Sales/JRR Auto Sales/On Time Courier/Pro Tech Fabrication/Wave Length Hair Salon/Budda Bert Transmission Sales and Service/Hoosier Tire South sponsored #16 Club 29 Race Car with a Cornett Race Engine.  Chilton would take second position, while Fisher would claim third, while Bailey and Lee completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be Jeff Rawlings, David Payne, Donnie Everman, Jerry Rutherford, and Travis Armes.  Twenty-one entries would see Rattliff be the top qualifier at 14.877 seconds, with heat wins going to Rattliff, Chilton, and Lee.

The Iron Man Modified main event would see Jeff Watson lead all 20 laps of the event and score his second straight win at the track behind the wheel of the Kenneth and Matthew Jordan owned Kevin Crutchfield Roofing/Diamond Auto Collision/Hines Auto Body/Atlas Contracting/Lancaster Godfather’s Pizza/Jordan Motorsports/CJB Race Car Bodies/Extreme Style Signs and Graphics/Brad Burton Dairy Farms/Shofner Enterprises sponsored #17J Lightning Chassis, Frank Ofria Race Engine powered mount.  Victor Lee would take runner-up honors, with Dennis Roberson, Delane Browning, and Jimmy Crabtree completing the top five.  Rounding out the top ten would be Kevin Harkins, Mike Pratt, Jared Reams, Keith Denny, and Joey Cotterman.  Twenty entries would see David Adams as top qualifier at 16.283 seconds, with Watson and Blake Brown winning heat race events.

Jeremie Bretz would score his second KDRA Super Stock feature win at Richmond Raceway by claiming the victory in the 15 lap feature event aboard the Swartz Enterprises sponsored #3x machine.  Robby Perkins would finish in the second position, with Bartley Grant outdueling Glen Hounshell, Jr. for the third position, while Ricky Brandenburg would finish fifth.  The second five at the finish would be Chad Barrett, Darrell Cain, Jason West, Terry Cheeks, and Eddie Hacker.  Eighteen entries would see Perkins as top qualifier at 16.778 seconds and win a heat, with Bretz winning the other heat.

Dave McCarty would lead the entire way to claim the victory in the Four Cylinder main event in the Swartz Enterprises sponsored #007 entry.  Thomas Scenters would finish second, with Tyler Vice finishing third.  Jamison Gipson would finish in the fourth spot, while Tim Osborne would complete the top five.  Eight entries would see McCarty also be top qualifier at 19.061 seconds, while Stacy Harrison would win the heat.

Cole Bland would take the checkered flag first in the Warlock Race Cars Mini-Cup/Cyclone feature, but would fail a post-race technical inspection, thus Josh Dickerson would be credited with the win in the Dickerson Remodeling #17D.  Jason Bell and Scott Crusenberry would complete the remainder of the running order.

SUMMARY-Richmond Raceway-Richmond, KY-September 5, 2015

Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Collins Signs Super Late Models (21 entries) Top Qualifier- Justin Rattliff 14.877 1st Heat- Justin Rattliff, David Payne, Jerry Rutherford, Jeff Rawlings, Timmy Taylor, Robby Hensley (DNS- Chris Ruble) 2nd Heat- Michael Chilton, Tommy Bailey, Steve Stollings, Steve Elliott, Rod Carter, Jr., Travis Armes, Donnie Sullivan 3rd Heat- Victor Lee, Derek Fisher, Ronne Payne, Donnie Everman, Jason Barrett, Eric Centers, Mike Petrey Revelution Race Cars Iron Man Speedweek presented by Arizona Sports Shirts Colonel Classic- Justin Rattliff, Michael Chilton, Derek Fisher, Tommy Bailey, Victor Lee, Jeff Rawlings, David Payne, Donnie Everman, Jerry Rutherford, Travis Armes, Jason Barrett, Donnie Sullivan, Rod Carter, Jr., Mike Petrey, Steve Stollings, Eric Centers, Steve Elliott, Robby Hensley, Timmy Taylor, Ronnie Payne (DNS- Chris Ruble)

Iron Man Modifieds presented by American Racer South (20 entries) Top Qualifier- David Adams 16.283 1st Heat- Jeff Watson, Jimmy Crabtree, Victor Lee, Kevin Harkins, Mike Pratt, Billy Palmer, Korey Cochran, Stevie Tipton, David Adams (DNS- Keith Denny) 2nd Heat- Blake Brown, Jimmy Robinson, Dennis Roberson, Delane Browning, Jared Reams, Joey Cotterman, Zach Powers, Brian Ramsey, Shawn Hibbard, Jeff Cotterman Iron Man Modified Speedweek A-Main- Jeff Watson, Victor Lee, Dennis Roberson, Delane Browning, Jimmy Crabtree, Kevin Harkins, Mike Pratt, Jared Reams, Keith Denny, Joey Cotterman, Zach Powers, Jimmy Robinson, Billy Palmer, Stevie Tipton, Brian Ramsey, Korey Cochran, Shawn Hibbard, Blake Brown (DNS- David Adams, Jeff Cotterman)

KDRA Super Stocks (18 entries)
Top Qualifier- Robby Perkins 16.778
1st Heat- Robby Perkins, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Bartley Grant, Chad Barrett, Darrell Cain, Jason West, Anthony Wiseman, Eddie Hacker, Glenn Saylor, Terry Cheeks 2nd Heat- Jeremie Bretz, Logan Preston, Ricky Brandenburg, Rudi Strebeck, Jason Rogers, Faron Robinson, Richard Gray, John Hall
Feature- Jeremie Bretz, Robby Perkins, Bartley Grant, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Ricky Brandenburg, Chad Barrett, Darrell Cain, Jason West, Terry Cheeks, Eddie Hacker, Rudi Strebeck, Logan Preston, Faron Robinson, John Hall, Jason Rogers, Richard Gray, Anthony Wiseman (DNS- Glenn Saylor)

Four Cylinders (8 entries)
Top Qualifier- Dave McCarty 19.061
Heat- Stacy Harrison, Dave McCarty, Jeremy Cantrell, Thomas Scenters, Keith Gipson, Tyler Vice, Jamison Gipson, Tim Osborne
Feature- Dave McCarty, Thomas Scenters, Tyler Vice, Jamison Gipson, Tim Osborne, Jeremy Cantrell, Keith Gipson (DNS- Stacy Harrison)

Warlock Race Cars Mini-Cup/Cyclones (4 entries)
Heat- Cole Bland, Josh Dickerson, Jason Bell, Scott Crusenberry
Feature- Josh Dickerson, Jason Bell, Scott Crusenberry (DQ- Cole Bland)